Online Panchang
Online Panchang

Month   Year

Indian Calendar Panchang

January 2022

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
2  3  4  5  6  7  8 
9  10  11  12  13  14  15 
16  17  18  19  20  21  22 
23  24  25  26  27  28  29 
30  31         
Monday, January 17, 2022 at 05:30:00 am IST
Tithi : PURNIMA (15)
Nakshatra : PUNARVASU
Yog / Karan : VAIDHRITI / Vishti
Sun Rise : 7:14 - 17:47
Rahu Kalam : 8:34:00 AM - 9:53:00 AM
Yamakandam : 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM

Panchang is an online astrological diary, based on past, current and future placement of planets in the zodiac.

You can match the current position of planets with the position of planets in your unique astrological chart and able to look ahead to find the best days and times for you.

Panchang is an ancient science that helps in knowing when to synchronize your actions with good times helps you reduce obstacles and increase your chances for success.

Panchang makes it easy for you to know what days and times are good for you, and which ones may cause problems.

Panchang is accurate ancient Vedic astrology applied to the practical needs of your day-to-day life. It works especially for the big things, like travel, romance, marriage, finance, visiting the dentist, exams, interviews, starting new projects etc.

Panchang reveals how the subtle conditions of time help create the vibration of our surroundings. By synchronizing ourselves with positive times our lives are helped in practical, tangible ways.

To find the Nakshatra, Yoga, Tithi, Rasi and all other essential details related to Panchang, click on the required date in calendar shown.


Plan Your Day


Tithi is the date according to the Hindu lunar calendar. The Hindu lunar calendar consists of a dark and a bright fortnight. Completion of 12 degrees of movement on that of Sun is called a Tithi or Hindu Day. There are 30 tithis in a lunar month. Tithis are shown in two major halves called Pakshas, Shukla Paksha and Krishna Paksha. There are several rituals and festivals associated with the Tithi. Tithi is significant from point of view of undertaking some rituals and functions as most of the Hindu festivals fall on the new moon day or the full moon day.
The Hindu Tithis are classified into 5 types:

  • Nanda Tithi – Bestows happiness, enjoyment.

  • Bhadra Tithi - Auspicious for stating new work

  • Jaya Tithi - Auspicious for winning over enemies.

  • Rikta Tithi – To be avoided for any important work.

  • Poorna Tithi – Auspicious to complete all jobs.

Shukla Paksha : Shukla Paksha are the 15 Tithis starting from New Moon to Full Moon ( Poornima).

Krishna Paksha: Krishna Paksha are the 15 Tithis starting from the Full Moon to New Moon ( Amavasya).

Tithi Hindu Name Name
1 Pratipada Nanda
2 Dvitiya Bhadra
3 Tritiya Jaya
4 Chaturthi Rikta
5 Panchami Poorna
6 Shashthi Nanda
7 Saptmi Bhadra
8 Ashtami Jaya
9 Navami Rikta
10 Dashmi Poorna
11 Ekadashi Nanda
12 Dwadashi Bhadra
13 Tryodashi Jaya
14 Chaturdashi Rikta
15 Poornima Poorna

Note: It is important to note that starting or ending of a Tithi depends upon the degree of Moon from that of Sun therefore a Tithi ends or starts at any time in a day not like the Modern Time when a date changes at midnight


An astrologer must give special attention to the position of Moon places in particular Nakshatra (constellation). The Sanskrit word Nakshatra means “that which does not decay.”

There are twenty-seven Nakshatras considered in Vedic Astrology. Each one of them has thirteen degree and twenty minutes of the zodiac. Nakshatra can be known with help of degrees of Moon in a particular sign at the time of birth.

The Nakshatras influence the quality of the Rashi in which they are positioned. The sequence of the 27 Nakshatras begins with Ashwini Nakshatra in Mesha Rashi.

Ashwini Bharani Krittika Rohini Mrigshira Aridra Punarvasu Pushya Ashlesha
Magha Purva Phalguni Uttar Phalguni Hasta Chitra Swati Vishakha Anuradha Jyeshta
Moola Purva Ashadha Uttara Ashadha Shravan Dhanishta Satbhisha Poorva Bhadrapada Uttara Bhadrapada Revati


A Yog is obtained from the sum of the Nirayna Longitude of the Moon and Sun and the sum is divided into 27 parts of 13°20' each. The first yog ( Viskumbh) ends when the sum is 13°20'. Second Yog ( Priti) ends when it is 26°40' and so on .

There are 27 yogas, namely:

1. Vishkumbha 2. Priti 3. Ayushman
4. Saubhagya  5. Shobhana 6. Atiganda
7. Sukarama 8. Dhriti 9. Shoola
10. Ganda 11. Vridhi 12. Dhruva
13. Vyaghata 14. Harshana 15. Vajra
16. Sidhi 17. Vyatipata 18. Vriyana
19. Paridhi 20. Shiva 21. Sidha
22. Sadhya 23. Shubha  24. Shukla
25. Brahma 26. Indra 27. Vaidhriti


Half of Tithi is called `Karna'. A Karna is completed when the Nirayana longitude of the Moon gains every 6° on that of Sun. In each Tithi there are two Karans covering the two halves of the Tithi.

There are 11 karnas in total. These can be classified as under:

Movable Karan Fixed Karan
Vav Kuni
Vaalav Chautushpad
Kaulav Naag
Taitil Kishtudhan
Garal Vanij
Vishti or Bhadra  


RahuKalam has a very important place in Vedic Astrology as it help in determining the inauspicious time period with in a complete day for starting any new, auspicious or important work.

Though, RahuKalam is calculated with help of Sun-Rise and Sun-Set time. Hence, this is obvious that it will differ from place to place.

Rahu Kalam is one and a half hour time each day of a week distributed at random in the week days.

Since the Rahu Kalam is dependent on the Sun-rise and Sun-set times of your particular location, you must calculate it for any day.


Like Rahu Kalam the following periods known as Yamagandam during which it is considered to be inauspicious to start any important work.

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
10-30 AM
12-00 PM
09-00 AM
10-30 AM
07-30 AM
09.00 AM
 06-00 AM
07-30 AM
3-00 PM
4-30 PM
01-30 PM
03-00 PM
12-00 PM
01-30 PM